Who Should and Should Not Intermittent Fast—Part One

Recently, I read one enthusiastic blogger and intermittent faster who passionately declared, “Before I start, i (sic) just want to tell you, this way of life [intermittent fasting] can be used for and by everyone” (emphasis mine). Though I agree with her enthusiasm for the IF lifestyle, I think she has been doing it for one month, I absolutely disagree with her IF-is-for-everyone mantra, and anyone who says so puts many lives in danger. So please allow me, with the help of many experts, to clarify this issue; so no harm comes to anyone trying this beneficial and healthy lifestyle.

To Fast or Not to Fast: Is That Even a Question?

Before I start, I just want to tell you, this way of life can be used for and by MOSTLY everyone. Two medical professionals, giants in the fasting field, verified this fact. In a video interview with Dr. Jason Feng, Dr. Joseph Mercola says, “The vast majority of people watching this probably would benefit from it [fasting] I would suggest maybe 80%…” I agree with the “vast majority,” but I think Dr. Mercola is being conservative with his “80%” guesstimate. Far more than 80% could certainly benefit from IF.

Who Can Safely Practice Intermittent Fasting?

People who are sick and tired of being sick and tired: Me, me, me…When I happened upon the articles about IF, I knew I had found something special, a key in a golden box, a key that people would tell me not to touch. bend-1296747_1280I decided to try the key in the lock and amazing things started to happen as soon as I placed the key in the keyhole. It has not stopped being an amazing journey. Three words I would use to describe Mark before IF: fat, ill, and exhausted. IF changed my very being. I went from preparing for death (maybe a few years off) to preparing and looking forward to a long healthy life, a change that people constantly notice in various ways. I have already written a post on improved immune function with IF. My health improves everyday, and I have more energy than I did as a teenager.

People with chronic yet manageable disease: Two diseases plague my body, ravaged before IF, irritate after IF: colitis and osteoarthritis. Both these diseases, and according to some experts most of the modern diseases, are caused and or exacerbated by inflammation. Intermittent fasting reduces, without drugs, inflammation throughout the body. Dr. Jason Feng has cured and taken many patients with diabetes off their insulin with water fasts and intermittent fasting. It would certainly not be wise to wait until one gets Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, diabetes, cancer, etc…all prevented, reduced, or put off for a long while with IF. Which brings us to our next category of people who can safely practice IF.

Healthy people who want to stay that way and avoid diabetes, cardiovascular problems, Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, cancer, and just want to stay on earth a lot longer: Already suffering from two diseases, I cannot help but rejoice for having found IF when I did. Most if not all of these diseases awaited me, patiently. I have happily delayed their arrival, at the very least. Heart disease and skin cancer run in my family. Heredity, ain’t it grand! Studies suggest that I may avoid these diseases, too, with intermittent fasting.

People who want to look and feel younger: In another post, I will explain how good my skin feels. Let me just say that a baby’s butt has nothing on my skin. It has been decades since my skin felt and looked this good. Speaking of feeling…I have not felt this young and energetic in decades. Fasting, it does a body good. Have I found the fountain of youth? So far it feels like it.

People who want to lose weight to be healthy and who are committed to this lifestyle: I say this with a huge caveat. One should not start intermittent fasting if the only goal has to do with fitting into a dress or attaining a summer body. img_3954Both these things happen as a bonus for the effort of intermittent fasting; however, health should be the number one concern. Good health mandates a lower body weight than most Westerners maintain, so for most, weight loss serves the greater general health of the individual. Maintaining a lower weight for life also must remain a high priority for the intermittent faster. Scammers push many weird and unhealthy ways to lose weight; even “experts” purport unhealthy eating as “healthy.” This is why 66% of Americans are overweight and why 33% are obese. Extra weight and obesity cause disease, specifically cardiovascular disease and diabetes. Therefore, health and weight loss should go together, but once the faster reaches a healthy weight, a less aggressive form of intermittent fasting should be continued. I am free to answer any questions that you might have. Just ask.

If you fit into one of the above categories, IF may be for you. In part two of this post, I will explore who should not attempt intermittent fasting. Leave your comments where they belong, follow my blog, and until next time…stay fast and fit!

5 thoughts on “Who Should and Should Not Intermittent Fast—Part One

  1. Jason Atkinson

    Thanks for clarifying that it’s not for everyone. I would also add that some people would be better off just easing into it to reap the full benefits. For example, those who want to give it a try might start by just skipping a meal once or twice a week. This will help to upregulate the metabolic pathways, reducing insulin and inflammation levels.

    Like

Leave a Reply

